Joan Yasui at the Oregon State Fair (1959)

Student Chapters

AMIA Student Chapters encourage increased awareness and understanding of the mission of AMIA and the role of archivists in the acquisition, preservation, exhibition and use of moving image media.

Student chapters introduce and integrate new archivists into the profession and enhance formal education by providing a forum for discussion and professional activities. Chapters provide an opportunity to meet and interact with colleagues within the professional community.

Student chapters may organize events, tours, and speakers relating to archives, as well presenting and organizing sessions at AMIA’s annual conference. Chapters are facilitated, supported, and overseen by AMIA’s Education Committee

University of California at Los Angeles (established 2000)

Co-Chair: Megan Needels
Micah Gottlieb
Co-Chair: Brian Belak
Vice Chair: Jeffrey Flam
Secretary: Jim Dey
Treasurer: Grace Muñoz
Social Media / Outreach Coordinator: Jose Gallegos
Student Governing Board Liaison: Patricia Villon

New York University (established 2003)

Co-President: Klavier Wang
Co-President: Maddy Mendell
Budget and Development: Ryan Lakin
Secretary: Amal Ahmed
Events Committee: David Griess & Shiyang Jiang
Home Movie Day Lead: Rob Hoffman
Marketing Assets: Zoe Yang

University of Rochester (established 2012)

President: Jayce Fryman
Secretary: Matthew Hidy
Treasurer: Christian Balistreri

University of Amsterdam (established 2014)

President: Babs Bakx
Vice President: Sarah Campion
Secretary: Emily Hahlbeck
Public Relations Officer: Catherine Thines
Treasurer: Achiel Buyse

Ryerson University (established 2016)

President: Laurel Day
Campus Rep: Marc Winegust
Social Media Coordinator: Emma Stirling

University of Toronto (established 2015)

Co-Chair: Ferrin Evans
Co-Chair: Heather Walker
Secretary: Renee Belliveau
Treasurer: Sharloth Salzer
CINSUU Rep: Mint Song
2nd Year Events and Comms: Laura Coyne & Samantha Greco
1st Year Events and Comms: Leah Hunter
1st Year Rep: Julia Gilmore

INAsup – French National Audiovisual Institute School, Paris (established 2020)

Co-Founders: Guillaume Boure & Louise Gerbelle
Co-Chairs: Émilie Blaise & Coralie George
Secretary: Timothée Aubry
Outreach Coordinator (interim): Clara Trottet
Social Gathering Liaison: Victor Fevre
Allround Members: Simon Krel & Clémence Almeras
Graphic Designer: Olivio Segura
Campus Advisor: Anaïs Cabart

University of Alabama (established 2020)

President and Founder: Valeria Dávila Gronros
Vice President: Meaghan Cash
Treasurer: Hope Ketcham-Geeting
Secretary: Emily L. Reynolds
Outreach Coordinator: April K. Burns

McGill University (established 2013)

President: Sean Sallis-Lyon

Emerson College (established 2016)


Establishing A Student Chapter

If you’re interested in establishing a Student Chapter, we urge you to contact the Education Committee Chair(s) or the AMIA Office.  We can answer questions and help you through the process.