

The Dan and Kathy Leab Award

The Dan and Kathy Leab Award was established to acknowledge the contribution of archivists who seldom have the opportunity of being recognized outside their institutions.

Conceived originally to honor the "unsung" work of moving image archivists, the Dan and Kathy Leab Award was central to AMIA's development as a professional organization. Award recipients have worked in a moving image archive or with a moving image collection, and have made a significant contribution to their institution or the field as a whole. Contributions are either in the form of a notable achievement or special project, or through the noteworthy performance of daily tasks carried out over a long period of time.

The award was funded through the generous support of Dan and Kathy Leab, long-time patrons of the archives and library community and long-time friends of AMIA. Dan Leab was the keynote speaker at AMIA's 1991 conference in New York, where he spoke on the relationship between film and history.

Upon receiving the donation that established the award in 1995, AMIA President Eddie Richmond thanked the Leabs "...not only for your contributions to AMIA, but for your belief that collecting, preserving and providing access to moving images is important work which should be recognized.

Recipients

2009: Charles Hopkins2008: Elaine Burrows

2007: Arthur (Artie) Wehrhahn

2006: Madeline Matz 2005: Todd Van Dusen 2004: Andrew Murdoch



2003: Marlena Wyman

2002: Dick Fauss

2001: Michele Kribs 2000: William D. Kirby

1999: Susan Wester

1998: Edward Stratmann 1997: Michael Godwin

1996: Rosemary Bergeron